Something soft for someone special

Standard

Last weekend was a very productive one for me …not only did we get to do some scouting around for furniture for our new home – on Saturday, I was able to fit in some hours of sewing into my day as Joshua was at work and I wanted make something πŸ™‚

On my shopping trip to Pantheon Road, while hunting for fabric for my secret project, I spotted two metres of a sweet pink, rose patterned flannel. The last 2 metres of the bolt in fact…and I just HAD to buy it…Plans of what I could do with it started running through my head and that was when I decided that it would be the perfect gift for Teena πŸ™‚

Oh by the way, I’m going to become an aunt real soon – Teena is due to deliver her little angel sometime around the 24th of this month…I know she is all anxious about her delivery (I would be petrified I suppose) and I wanted to give her a little gift to comfort her and pamper her before she gets busy with her baby. I marched home with the flannel and washed it in soap to make sure it didn’t shrink πŸ™‚

I hemmed all four sides with my trusty, foot-pedaled sewing machine that I have had for the past 8 years or so!! I am getting back to sewing after almost a year and a half..so I first had to spend some time cleaning up my machine and winding fresh bobbins.
Here’s my baby…it’s a Singer Classic Ultra Fashion Maker machine…you can see just a bit of my secret project near it πŸ˜‰

I was trying to lean in front to get a better view of the starting of a new seam and that’s when I completely forgot that my foot was still on the pedal…Can you guess what happened? Of course – I stuck my finger under the needle and almost sewed straight through it!!! Fortunately, the needle just went through the tip of my finger near the end of my finger nail and went through only the skin..that was painful enough for me to frantically check the flannel to see if I had bled all over it! Geez!! i thought I had ruined my gift for good – but I hadn’t!! I had a narrow escape because I had put in a new needle just for sewing the blanket and it was mighty sharp indeed.

Leaning over to get a better view?? That should teach me how to be more careful in future!! I have been sewing for almost 9 years and this is the first time I have done something so stupid 😦

Anyway, the blanket and my sewing machine escaped unhurt so that is all that counts…I finished the blanket in an hour or so – I spent some time in between by whining to hubby for sympathy πŸ˜‰ I washed the blanket again to get rid of stray threads and did a last rinse with some fabric conditioner to soften the flannel even more…My mum hung it out to dry overnight in my kitchen and it was all ready and gift-able in the morning.. I tied some satin ribbon bows on the blanket after I ironed it and gave it to Joshua to give it to Teena.

I hope this blanket gives Teena warmth and comfort πŸ™‚ it was made with a lot of love and some pain due to my carelessness πŸ™‚

Let me tell you a little about Teena – she was the first person in Joshua’s family to talk to me when they all had come to my house to “see” me and I immediately liked her open smile and friendliness…Though she is younger than me..I feel we’re the same age. we speak often on the phone and Joshua and I do get teased sometimes but we enjoy it πŸ™‚

Seeing her faith in God has encouraged me to get closer to God through prayer and reading the Bible and for once I am following someone πŸ™‚ I usually hate being told what to do and I never listen but she was never preachy or anything of that sort. I have seen her childlike yet strong faith in God and that made me also seek a similar relationship with Him. Teena has a lovely laugh that makes you want to stop whatever you are doing and be happy too πŸ™‚ I really like talking to her…though I wish I had more time to talk to her more frequently. In the initial days of Joshua and my relatioinship, speaking to her had really allayed my fears about having an arranged marriage and I became more comfortable with my new family because of the way she welcomed me πŸ™‚ I am really blessed to have found such a loving family through Joshua.

Teena and Jimmy, my prayers are with you and your little one for a safe delivery. You are all very special to me.

Leave a Reply

